With internet connections on mobile devices in addition to desktops, the way people get information is changing. For the adult population, studies have found that newspapers are the first choice for information about local events, television for weather and breaking news, and the Web for information about business. It is a tie between the internet and papers for things like housing, schools, and jobs. My top sources of information are more heavily put on Web sources, with me using newspapers and television less than the rest of the adult population. I find information about community events on the web with sites such as Facebook. I also look up weather, traffic, and businesses more often on my phone. Therefore, my top source of information in almost all areas is the Web.
I feel like students use the internet, with some television, as their main source of information. Students probably know more about how to find things on the web than I do because they have never known a time without portable, internet connected devices while I have. It is important to remember when planning instruction and looking at curriculum that students may have access to many answers by simply typing their question into Google.com or another search engine. This means that teachers may need to come up with unique, creative questions so that students do not rely on the information online, but solely on what they know. It also means that curriculum should include research methods that focus on the use of the internet.

